Beginner

Discuss anything ski related here!

Moderators: SkiDork, bvibert

Beginner

Postby srdeo » Fri Mar 30, 2012 1:12 pm

hi
I am a long time snowboarder looking to get into skiing hoping I can get into moguls in as short time as possible.
Mogul really is the only reason I want to get into skiing since i can do other stuff on Snowboard. And maybe slalom since ski seems to have more control.
How long does one take before one can be skilled enough to enjoy moguls?
I understand it depends on the person, but if it's like 10+ years maybe it's not worth pursuing.
I don't expect it to be easy but would like to know how hard. I am hoping in 2 or 3 years I can be skilled enough to enjoy them. Don't expect to be an expert but good enough to enjoy them.
I would think snowboarding would help rather than hurt, but I am not really sure. I've been snowboarding for 20 years.

Also, what kind of skis do you recommend? Obviously, beginner intermediate skis, but i want something that is not completely opposite of what i intended to use.
Please recommend something from the past since i plan to buy them used. For boots i have old Raichle Flexon i use to snowboard (hard boots).
In general, am i looking for softer skis with narrow waist? or is it better to have stiffer short skis? What kind of side cut should i look for?
What length is good? Are moguls skis sized shorter? I am 6'2 230-240lbs

I am leaning towards Volkl skis only because i have their board and like how they feel, but again skis could be totally different.
But i am not against any other brands. I want something i can use as beginner and progress with into what i want to do.
Is Volkl P40 Platinum Energy Frame 173cm with Marker M7.2 Logic 2 or G30 Vertigo 178cm Marker M8.1 SC Selective Control a good option?

Any suggestion is appreciated.
Thanks
srdeo

Re: Beginner

Postby PomfretPlunge » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:07 pm

Hi SR